Home > Events > Trio Pollastri South Turramurra February 10 2018 2.30pm

Trio Pollastri South Turramurra February 10 2018 2.30pm

Posted on

Stretch out the summer and join Trio Pollastri in the peaceful setting of the St Andrews Uniting Church for an afternoon of chamber music before the madness of the new year takes over.

Mozart’s last piano trio, K564 was published in 1788 and is remarkable for its “domestic” simplicity and sparkling charm in the midst of the composition and first performances of the Jupiter Symphony, and the great operas “Don Giovanni” and The Marriage of Figaro”.

Clara Schumann’s Piano Trio in g minor was written in 1846 when she was twenty-seven, looking after 3 small children, pregnant with her and Robert’s fourth child and, as one of Europe’s leading pianists, championing works of her husband, Chopin and Brahms. It is a finely crafted work that is easily recognisable for its midcentury romantic style with an affinity for the music of Robert Schumann as well as Felix Mendelssohn.

Our concert ends with the charming Viennese Liebesfreud (Love’s Joy) by Fritz Kreisler in an arrangement for piano trio by Wolfgang Birtel.

Please join us afterwards for refreshments and a chat.

When: Saturday 10 February 2018 2:3pm

Where: St Andrew’s Uniting Church, corner of Chisholm st and Vernon St South Turramura

Cost: Adults $20, Concession $15, Under 18s free

Poster: Trio Pollastri poster with all the details

TRIO POLLASTRI are three busy musicians who came together in 2012 to explore the piano trio repertoire. Alongside her role as Assistant Concertmaster of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and Concertmaster of the Sydney Philharmonia Orchestra Fiona Ziegler plays Baroque violin and mandolin in numerous other ensembles. She plays a 250-year old Testore violin. Rosemary Quinn is currently a member both of the Australian Brandenburg and the Sydney Philharmonia Orchestras. Lillian Camphausen is a well-known accompanist in Sydney. All three musicians are also passionate teachers. The name of the Trio is taken from the maker of Rosemary’s cello, Augustus Pollastri of Milan (1925).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *